Changes to district steward team

Posted on: June 22, 2019 at 4:35 am

Island Roads has announced changes to its district steward team.

Matt Shaw has been appointed, on promotion, to the post of senior district steward following the departure of Shane Hall who is leaving Island Roads to work in another post within the Ringway organisation.

Matt has previously been the steward for Wootton, Ryde, Seaview, St Helens and Bembridge (District 3) and he will be replaced in this area by John Barry who has previously been covering steward for Central Wight including Newport (District 2).

Moving to Newport will be former Ventnor area steward Sean Wyse with Paul Wigman – who has previously provided support to district stewards across the Island – taking over the Ventnor area.

Geoff Pidgeon remains steward for Sandown/Shanklin District (4), Richard Baker remains steward for Cowes District (1) and Derek Bean remains steward for West Wight District (6). Rob Reed continues to support the stewards across the network.

District stewards are Island Roads’ eyes and ears across the Island. Their role involves liaising with the local community over work schemes and a large part of the role sees them carrying out regular walked and driven safety inspections of their district to ensure the roads, pavements and cycle paths are in a safe condition.

Paul Herbert, Island Roads service director said: “We are delighted Matt is stepping up into the role of senior district steward. It is always good to see career progression within the company.

“All our district stewards are, of course, Island residents and I know they are looking forward to continuing to serve the community in the important work they do.”